Nils Wanderer
© Guido Werner

Nils Wanderer

Born in South Germany Countertenor Nils Wanderer studied Singing and music theatre in Weimar with Prof. Siegfried Gohritz. He went on to study at the Guildhall School with Professor Andrew Watts as a member of the Opera course receiving a full scholarship.  Nils Wanderer has taken vocal master classes with Vivica Genaux, Emma Kirkby, Karina Gauvin, Patricia Pace, Karl-Peter Kammerlander, Axel Köhler, amongst others. He works on a regular basis with Matthias Rexroth.

Born in South Germany Countertenor Nils Wanderer studied Singing and music theatre at the Hochschule für Musik Franz Liszt in Weimar with Prof. Siegfried Gohritz. He went on to study at the Guildhall School of Music & Drama in London with Professor Andrew Watts as a member of the Opera course receiving a full scholarship.  Nils Wanderer has taken vocal master classes with Vivica Genaux, Emma Kirkby, Karina Gauvin, Patricia Pace, Karl-Peter Kammerlander, Axel Köhler, amongst others. He works on a regular basis with Matthias Rexroth.

He collaborates regularly as a soloist with orchestras such as La follia Augsburg, Lautencompagney Berlin, Baroque Orchestra Karlsruhe, La Sfera Armoniosa, Staatskapelle Weimar, Jenaer Philharmonics on stages including Teatro Massimo Palermo, Deutsches Nationaltheater Weimar, De Nederlandse Reisopera, Opera Bonn, Theatre Chemnitz, and venues like Vatican in Rome, Philharmonie  de Paris, L’Auditori Barcelona, la Chapelle Royale de Versailles, Thomaskirche Leipzig, UNESCO World Heritage Monastery  Maulbronn, Wigmore Hall London, Barbican Centre in London and Festivals like Festival Perigord Noir, Klassik Sommer Hamm, Festival de Música Antigua de Sevilla under the baton of  conductors such as Jordi Savall, Kent Nagano, Andreas Spering, Jürgen Budday, Simon Harsley, Michael Alber and Dominic Beykirch.

Operatic roles include Sorceress and Spirit in Purcells Dido and Aeneas, Orlofsky in Strauß’ Die Fledermaus, Rinaldo in Händels Rinaldo, Baba the Turk in Stravinskys The Rakes Progress, The Boy and Angel 1 in Benjamins Written on skin and Oberon in Brittens A Midsummer Night's Dream.

His Oratorio and concert repertoire includes Händels Messiah, Belshazzar, Il trionfo del tempo e del disinganno, Dixit Dominus, Vivaldis Stabat Mater and Nisi Dominus, Orffs Carmina Burana, Bachs b-Minor MassMagnificat, St. Matthew Passion, St. John Passion, various Cantatas, Christmas Oratorio and Bernsteins Chichester Psalms. As a Lieder Performer he has presented Schumanns opus 39, Schuberts Winterreise, Debussys Fêtes Galantes and various songs by Quilter, Barber, Wolf and Strauss with accomplished pianists such as Thomas Steinhöfel, Graham Johnson and Ian Burnside.

Winner of the International Asian Singing Competition and the Gold Medal for outstanding performance as first countertenor, Nils Wanderer was awarded First Prize, as well as the Audience Prize, at the Handel Competition in Karlsruhe as singer as well as flutist. Over the last years the young Countertenor had the honour to premiere many pieces written for him and his own ensembles COUNTERWERK (two percussionists and countertenor) and is the artistic director of the baroque music and dance ensemble MERIDIES.

He received the Young Artist Award at the Barbican Centre London for his work as Singer, Director, Choreographer, Conductor and Musical Director of the Boys Choir Pueri Cantores Altahensis.

Upcoming engagements in 2019/ 2020 include the role of Pastore/Spirito in Monteverdis L'Orfeo with De Nederlandse Reisopera, concert tour as Alto Soloist with Jordi Savall and the St. Matthew Passion in Barcelona, Versailles, Paris, CD-release of the St. Matthew Passion with Jordi Savall, b-Minor Mass with Andreas Spering at the Festival de Música Antigua in Sevilla, his own production of Purcells Dido and Aeneas as Director, Choreographer and Singer with the Baroque Orchestra Karlsruhe at the Monastery Concert Festival Maulbronn, Recitals at the Klassik Sommer Hamm, Wigmore Hall London, Barbican Centre London, Concerthall Lodź, Singer at the AIDS-GALA Opera Bonn, Soloist in Orffs Carmina Burana at the Barbican Centre and Concerts with Bachs St. John Passion at Thomaskirche Leipzig, Bachkirche Arnstadt, Münster Bonn and Bauzner Dom.

He was invited by Edith Wiens to join the International Meistersinger Academy in Neumarkt /Oberpfalz where he will be working with Brigitte Fassbaender and the Nürnberger Philharmonics as well as singing a song Recital with Malcolm Martineau which will be broadcasted by Bavarian Television.

Please contact maierartists for a current biography.

BAROQUE HEROES and their enemies

Arias by Händel, Vivaldi and Purcell

Out of the operas Giulio Cesare, Rinaldo, Tolomeo, Amadigi di Gaula, Farnace, Orlando furioso and Dido & Aeneas

Lacrimae rerum

Tränen sind in allen Dingen, und alles was dem Tode geweiht ist, berührt unser Herz. - Vergil, Aeneis 1,462

Sacred and profan Lamenti about death and loss by J.S. Bach | J.C. Bach | A. Vivaldi | J. Dowland |H. Purcell | G.F. Händel

(Lamento by J. C. Bach, arias by J.S. Bach, excerpts from Nisi Dominis and Stabat Mater by Vivaldi, Flow my tears und Dye not before thy day von Dowland, Dido's Lament von H. Purcell)

Nils Wanderer
© Guido Werner
5184x3456 (300 dpi)
Nils Wanderer
© Guido Werner
3456x5188 (300 dpi)
Nils Wanderer
© Guido Werner
5184x3456 (300 dpi)
Nils Wanderer
© Guido Werner
5184x3456 (300 dpi)

Aktuelle Termine

Nils Wanderer

Stralsund, Theater Vorpommern
Purcell: Dido and Aeneas
Partie. Sorceress

Nils Wanderer

Greifswald, Theater Vorpommern
Purcell: Dido and Aeneas
Partie. Sorceress

Nils Wanderer

Greifswald, Theater Vorpommern
Purcell: Dido and Aeneas
Partie. Sorceress

Nils Wanderer

Stralsund, Theater Vorpommern
Purcell: Dido and Aeneas
Partie. Sorceress

Nils Wanderer

Greifswald, Theater Vorpommern
Purcell: Dido and Aeneas
Partie. Sorceress

Archiv (Auszug)

- Nils Wanderer

Bad Rotenfels, Gebetshaus
Werke von Händel, Purcell und Bach
mit Cembalo und Violincello

- Nils Wanderer

Stralsund, Theater Vorpommern
Purcell: Dido and Aeneas
Partie. Sorceress

- Nils Wanderer

Stralsund, Theater Vorpommern
Purcell: Dido and Aeneas
Partie. Sorceress

- Nils Wanderer

Stralsund, Theater Vorpommern
Purcell: Dido and Aeneas
Partie. Sorceress

- Nils Wanderer

Greifswald, Theater Vorpommern
Purcell: Dido and Aeneas
Partie. Sorceress

- Nils Wanderer

Stralsund, Theater Vorpommern
Purcell: Dido and Aeneas
Partie. Sorceress

- Nils Wanderer

Kloster Maulbronn, Winterkirche
Werke von Händel, Purcell,
Schubert und Strauss
mit Daniel Heide, Klavier

- Nils Wanderer

Greifswald, Theater Vorpommern
Purcell: Dido and Aeneas
Partie. Sorceress

Nils Wanderer
© Guido Werner

Nils Wanderer

Der junge Countertenor steht in seinem letzten Ausbildungsjahr an der Guildhall School, ist aber schon einige Jahre auf der Bühne zu erleben. Zuletzt besetzte ihn die Nederlands Reisopera als Sänger und Tänzer in Monterverdis "Orfeo", denn schon in seiner Jugend reussierte er international als Turniertänzer. Nils Wanderer studierte in Weimar Gesang und Schauspiel und entschied sich dann für die Sängerlaufbahn.

Der Countertenor Nils Wanderer studierte Gesang an der Hochschule für Musik in Weimar in der Klasse von Prof. Siegfried Gohritz. Seit September 2019 ist er Mitglied des Opera Course der Guildhall School of Music & Drama in London und studiert dort bei Professor Andrew Watts.

Als Gewinner des Young Artist Awards des Barbican Centres in London erhält er ein volles Stipendium für sein Studium und gibt regelmäßig Konzerte im Rahmen der Barbican Concerts mit dem London Symphony Orchestra und London Symphony Chorus. Nils Wanderer arbeitete in Meisterklassen mit Vivica Genaux, Emma Kirkby, Karina Gauvin, Patricia Pace, Karl-Peter Kammerlander und Axel Köhler. Eine enge Zusammenarbeit verbindet Ihn mit dem Altus Matthias Rexroth, der Ihn gesanglich betreut.

Als Solist tritt Nils Wanderer regelmäßig in Erscheinung mit Klangkörpern wie la follia Augsburg, Lautencompagney Berlin, Barockorchester Karlsruhe, La Sfera Armoniosa Amsterdam, Staatskapelle Weimar, Jenaer Philharmonie auf Bühnen wie dem Teatro Massimo Palermo, Deutsches Nationaltheater Weimar, De Nederlandse Reisopera, Staatsschauspiel Dresden, Barocktheater Gotha, Oper Bonn, Theater Chemnitz, Festivals wie dem Festival de Música Antigua de Sevilla, Maulbronner Klosterkonzerte, Festival Perigord Noir, Klassik Sommer Hamm und auf Konzertpodien wie der Philharmonie de Paris, L’Auditori Barcelona, la Chapelle Royale de Versailles, Thomaskirche Leipzig, Wigmore Hall und Barbican Centre in London unter der Leitung von Dirigenten wie Jordi Savall, Kent Nagano, Andreas Spering, Jürgen Budday, Simon Harley und anderen.

Als Opernsänger beinhaltet sein Repertoire unter anderem die Rolle der Sorceress und des Spirit in Purcells Dido and Aeneas, Orlofsky in Strauß’ Die Fledermaus, Rinaldo in Händels Rinaldo, Baba the Turk in Stravinskys The Rakes Progress, The Boy und Angel 1 in Benjamins Written on Skin und Oberon in Brittens A Midsummer Night's Dream.

Als Oratorien- und Konzertsänger interpretierte er Händels Messiah, Belshazzar, Il trionfo del tempo e del disinganno, Dixit Dominus, Vivaldis Stabat Mater und Nisi Dominus, Orffs Carmina Burana, Bachs h-Moll Messe, Magnificat, Matthäus-Passion, Johannes-Passion, diverse Kantaten, Weihnachtsoratorium und Bernsteins Chichester Psalms. Als Liedsänger präsentierte er Schumanns Liederkreis Opus 39, Schuberts Winterreise, Elgars Sea Pictures, Debussys Fêtes Galantes und verschiedene Lieder von Quilter, Barber, Wolf und Strauss mit Liedbegleitern wie Thomas Steinhöfel, Graham Johnson und Ian Burnside.

Nils Wanderer gewann den International Asian Singing Competition und erhielt die Gold Medaille als erster Countertenor in der Geschichte des Wettbewerbs. Außerdem gewann er den ersten Preis beim Händel-Wettbewerb in Karlsruhe, sowohl in der Solo-Kategorie als Sänger als auch in der Kategorie “Ensemble” als Flötist. Im Laufe der letzten Jahre wurden mehrere Uraufführungen für den Countertenor geschrieben: Mit seinem Ensemble Counterwerk (Kollaboration des Percussion-Duo's Jessica und Vanessa Porter mit ihm als Sänger und Tänzer) brachte er diese Werke unter anderem im Festspielhaus Baden-Baden und in der Wigmore Hall London zur Aufführung. Neben seiner Gesangskarriere arbeitet Nils Wanderer als Schauspieler, Choreograph für Theater und Film und ist künstlerischer Leiter des Barock-Ensembles MERIDIES.

Aktuelle Engagements der Saison 2019/2020 beinhalten L'Orfeo mit De Nederlandse Reisopera (als Sänger und Tänzer), Konzert-Tournee als Solist mit Jordi Savall und der Matthäus-Passion in Barcelona, Versailles, Paris, CD-release der Matthäus-Passion mit Jordi Savall, h-Moll Messe unter der Leitung von Andreas Spering beim Festival de Música Antigua in Sevilla, seine eigene Produktion von Purcells Dido and Aeneas als Regisseur, Choreograph und Sänger mit dem  Barockorchester Karlsruhe bei den Klosterkonzerten Maulbronn, Liederabende und Solo-Konzerte beim Klassik Sommer Hamm, Wigmore Hall London, Concerthall Lodź,  AIDS-GALA Opera Bonn, Solist in Orffs Carmina Burana im Barbican Centre und Konzerte mit Bachs Johannes-Passion in der  Thomaskirche Leipzig, Bachkirche Arnstadt, Münster Bonn und Bauzner Dom.

Er wurde von Edith Wiens zur Internationalen Meistersinger Akademie in Neumarkt/ Oberpfalz 2020 eingeladen.

Bitte kontaktieren Sie maierartists für die aktuelle Fassung der Biographie.

BAROQUE HEROES and their enemies

Arien von Händel, Vivaldi und Purcell

Aus den Opern Giulio Cesare, Rinaldo, Tolomeo, Amadigi di Gaula, Farnace, Orlando furioso und Dido & Aeneas

Lacrimae rerum

Tränen sind in allen Dingen, und alles was dem Tode geweiht ist, berührt unser Herz. - Vergil, Aeneis 1,462

Geistliche und weltliche Lamenti über Tod und Verlust von J.S. Bach | J.C. Bach | A. Vivaldi | J. Dowland |H. Purcell | G.F. Händel

(Lamento von J. C. Bach, ausgewählte Arien von J.S. Bach, Auszüge aus Nisi Dominis und Stabat Mater von Vivaldi, Flow my tears und Dye not before thy day von Dowland, Dido's Lament von H. Purcell)

WELCOME WANDERER

Englische Werke von G.F. Händel | J. Dowland | H. Purcell | B. Britten | R. Quilter

PASSION

Sakrale Werke für Alt von J.S. Bach und A. Vivaldi

STABAT MATER³

Stabat Mater von G. Pergolesi

Stabat Mater von A. Vivaldi

Stabat Mater von G. Sances

Nils Wanderer
© Guido Werner
5184x3456 (300 dpi)
Nils Wanderer
© Guido Werner
3456x5188 (300 dpi)
Nils Wanderer
© Guido Werner
5184x3456 (300 dpi)
Nils Wanderer
© Guido Werner
5184x3456 (300 dpi)

Bitte beachten Sie, dass nachfolgend nur Konzerttermine gelistet sind, die durch maierartists vertreten werden.

Aktuelle Termine

Nils Wanderer

Stralsund, Theater Vorpommern
Purcell: Dido and Aeneas
Partie. Sorceress

Nils Wanderer

Stralsund, Theater Vorpommern
Purcell: Dido and Aeneas
Partie. Sorceress

Nils Wanderer

Stralsund, Theater Vorpommern
Purcell: Dido and Aeneas
Partie. Sorceress

Nils Wanderer

Greifswald, Theater Vorpommern
Purcell: Dido and Aeneas
Partie. Sorceress

Nils Wanderer

Stralsund, Theater Vorpommern
Purcell: Dido and Aeneas
Partie. Sorceress

Nils Wanderer

Greifswald, Theater Vorpommern
Purcell: Dido and Aeneas
Partie. Sorceress

Nils Wanderer

Stralsund, Theater Vorpommern
Purcell: Dido and Aeneas
Partie. Sorceress

Nils Wanderer

Greifswald, Theater Vorpommern
Purcell: Dido and Aeneas
Partie. Sorceress

Nils Wanderer

Greifswald, Theater Vorpommern
Purcell: Dido and Aeneas
Partie. Sorceress

Nils Wanderer

Stralsund, Theater Vorpommern
Purcell: Dido and Aeneas
Partie. Sorceress

Nils Wanderer

Greifswald, Theater Vorpommern
Purcell: Dido and Aeneas
Partie. Sorceress

Archiv (Auszug)

- Nils Wanderer

Bad Rotenfels, Gebetshaus
Werke von Händel, Purcell und Bach
mit Cembalo und Violincello